Spicy Thai squid with rice recipe

I went to Farid’s yesterday and bought these beautiful SQUID!!! I knew exactly what I was gonna do to them as soon as I saw them. Fahad hates it when I buy seafood but eats them up every time I cook them and I can’t eat chicken everyday. Even if I could I still wouldn’t, there’s too much that nature has to offer and there’s just too much to eat. :p
I don’t understand why he thinks chicken is easy to cook and isn’t messy?when I think chicken is the most boring protein ever! And demands too much external flavouring. According to me the best part of the chicken are the bones, packed with flavour and he wants me to buy boneless!!! Errr!
Anyways I still do my own thing and let him whin all he wants because at the end of the day he leaves me a happy plate. 🙂
Coming back to squid, I don’t really like deep frying them with batter because it looses the flavour and juice. What’s actually left out of them is the rubbery texture complimenting the light crispy batter and what ever you flavour it with.
I love to stir fry them just the way my mom does it and I grew up eating them this way. So guess what? Fahad was like ” too good” and even took pictures of it to post it on his Facebook. 😛

20140211-041035.jpg

Here’s what you’ll need : ( serves 2)

2 tbsp fresh garlic paste
4 green chillies ( we like it spicy)
1 tsp dried red chilli flakes
5 tbsp cooking oil
4 tbsp oyster sauce
1 stem of celery
4 squids cleaned and peeled ( 6-7 inches long, never buy bigger then that )
10 leaves of Chinese cabbage
6 tbsp light soya sauce
2 bowls of steamed white jasmine rice.

Step 1
Clean and peel the squids, heat oil in a non stick pan then fry garlic and green chillies until golden brown. Now add in the chilli flakes.

20140211-042625.jpg

20140211-042816.jpg

20140211-043035.jpg

Step 2
Put the cut up squids in then add the soya sauce and oyster sauce in. Stir fry until the squids curl up then add in the Chinese cabbage and stir fry until the cabbage faints.

20140211-043707.jpg

20140211-043720.jpg

20140211-043733.jpg

Step 3
Put the celery stem in and stir fry for 2 minutes. Serve this on top of steamy jasmine rice and EAT!

20140211-043943.jpg

20140211-043949.jpg

3 Comments Add yours

  1. mehreen says:

    how is this thai??

    1. It’s a Thai staple cooked and served on the streets and also at home … Called phad pamugg laat khao !

Leave a Reply

