What to do with a cow’s tail? (Recipe)

Being brought up in Bangkok I remember my family and I would go to this Muslim restaurant to have this most amazing cow’s tail soup and I remember the flavours to be so fresh and clean. I would ask my mom what is this and my dad would reply saying “Doum hai Doum” which means “this is a tail” in Urdu. πŸ˜€
The soup is thin and clear but at the same time taste very heavy due to the amount of flavour packed in it! It’s eaten with steamed jasmine infused boiled rice and is so surprisingly filling it’s not even funny, the meat is so tender, so tender it melts right away in your mouth and the juice from the bones into the soup make you want to kiss the hands of the one who invented this dish! It’s basic and very easy to make, key ingredient? Love!
Today I will share the recipe with you. πŸ™‚

Things you will need :

Soup.
1 cow’s tail.
1 onion
1 tomato
1/4 cup celery
5 coriander roots or 1/2 cup coriander without leaves
2-3 green cardamom ( do not pop them open)
2 fresh red chillies
2 fresh green chillies
1 chunk of 2 inch thick ginger
2 tbsp fresh garlic paste
1 tsp red chilly flakes.
2 star anise
1/2 stick cinnamon
1 tbsp white pepper
10 whole black pepper
2 cloves
Sea salt to taste

Garnish:
Fried onions
Sliced ginger
Chopped coriander leaves
Lemon wedges.

Step 1
Clean and Boil the tail in water and skim out the protein that floats to the top.

20140304-024037.jpg

20140304-024044.jpg

20140304-024059.jpg

Step 2
Add in the crushed garlic, chopped onion and everything !

20140304-024550.jpg

20140304-024559.jpg

20140304-024613.jpg

20140304-024633.jpg

20140304-024659.jpg

Step 3
Cover it and let it boil until the meat is so tender, it should almost be leaving the bones! Mean while prepare the garnish! πŸ™‚ this is the fun part and I love it!

20140304-025540.jpg

20140304-025552.jpg

Step 4
Plate up! Make it look beautiful serve hot with steamy hot white rice ( do not put oil and salt ).

20140304-030008.jpg

20140304-030018.jpg

20140304-030028.jpg

9 Comments Add yours

  1. lmjapan says:

    I love oxtail soup, I always make it a couple times every winter. I’m going to have to try it with that fried onion garnish!

  2. The Global Recipe Project at crowdedearthkitchen.com is seeking authentic Thai recipes. I hope you will consider participating! πŸ™‚

    1. Tell me !!!! What am I required to do!!! πŸ™‚

      1. There is a submission/comment box under the Global Recipe Project at crowdedearthkitchen.com, or if it’s easier, a recipe may be sent via email to betsy.bannier@outlook.com. Any authentic recipe would be really appreciated! πŸ™‚

      2. I know a lot of authentic recipes
        Thai
        Pakistani
        Singaporean
        Indonesian
        Vietnamese
        Japanese
        Chinese
        Should I submit them all or just one ?

      3. Oh wow – you would be my blogging hero if you were willing to submit multiple recipes. πŸ™‚ The “recipe goal” of the Global Recipe Project is at least one recipe from every country in the world -and- at least one recipe for every ten million people (so, over 100 recipes each from China and India alone!). Multiple submissions are always appreciated!

      4. Done! I’ll submit all the authentic ones that I know !

      5. Awesome! Thank you! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

