Yentafo period! (Recipe)

When I was 8 years old, the maid would walk me to the food street behind my house in Bangkok at Silom so I could get whatever I wanted to eat for lunch on a Saturday.

I remember the feeling so strongly. I just wanted everything! But of course my mother’s instruction would always be there.😒

Yentafo is a pink soupy noodle dish of Thailand and I would call it barbie soup! 😁 beautiful childhood days! Not that I live today any differently. ☺️ some things just don’t change.

There are many versions to how you can make this, I’ll tell you how I do mine.

Bring  500 ml of water to a boil and drop in one onion chopped into 4 chunks. Throw in a chunk of white radish if you want, this acts as an Enhancer !

A tbsp full of fried garlic.

500 ml of stock.

A tbsp vinegar.

A tbsp sugar.

2- 3 tbsp fish sauce. (Tweak this accordingly)

A tsp white pepper.

2 tsp fermented tofu.

And a tbsp of yentafo paste. ( I bought mine from this Thai grocery store called Ponthip exotic fruits and vegetables wholesale on Campbell street in the city we call Sydney! ☺️dramatic much?) any who!

Let it boil for 20 to 30 minutes.
Discard everything in the soup and boil the noodles in it.

Put noodles in the bowl you’ll be serving in.

Now Boil the seafood and protein in the same soup. Put them on the noodles.

Do the same with the kangkong or any other veggies that you like… Same goes for the mushrooms too.

You can also add in fried tofu and white fungus , just do the same thing to it.

Now pour out the soup in the same bowl and garnish with fried garlic and chilly flakes. I like to add in some fresh snow pea sprout and bean sprout. You can also garnish with coriander.

Sorted!😘

Leave a Reply

